RSS

Do You Feel the Bern?

31 Aug
Do You Feel the Bern?

If you’re a friend of mine on Facebook, you’ve surely noticed that I’m a big supporter of Bernie Sanders for president. He’s building a huge grassroots following and staying away from big-money donors. His fans are finding creative ways to promote their presidential choice. I wanted to share with you this one, which shows you don’t need big bucks to help the candidate you believe in.

This is Kyle Pillsbury who is backpacking around to get the word out in small towns about Bernie Sanders' campaign.

This is Kyle Pillsbury who is backpacking around to get the word out in small towns about Bernie Sanders’ campaign.

“I will be spending my birthday this year (Sept 13) in smaller towns spreading Bernie’s campaign where so many have heard almost nothing about him. I’ll start traveling down back road highways, and won’t have much access to wi-fi or affordable food, hoping to pack up on some stuff I can travel with and cook, like rice and oats. Thanks so much everyone who contributed to my Go Fund Me request.
Here's his sign on his backpack promoting Bernie.

Here’s his sign on his backpack promoting Bernie.

I’m homeless for the time, and hitchhiking and working around. Since I don’t have a car or place for my sign, I support Bernie, and spread the word everywhere I go, people who give me rides, other travelers, people I meet in the towns and cities I pass through.
I’ve been politically active for a long time, but this is the first time a presidential candidate has gotten me this excited.”
Here is his Go Fund Me page.

Here’s my challenge to you: Think about ways that you can help spread the word about Bernie. Act on that and one-by-one we can build support for this candidate.

#‎EnoughIsEnough‬ ‪#‎FeelTheBern‬ ‪#‎Sanders2016‬

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2015 in Politics

 

3 responses to “Do You Feel the Bern?

  1. Kathryn Grace

    September 1, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    Woohoo, Virginia! I got a little thrill of excitement when this turned up in my feed today. Thank you for sharing Kyle Pillsbury’s unique method of passing the word along.

    Like you, I do the little things I can to support Senator Sanders in his presidential bid. In my lifetime, I have not seen a candidate who thrilled me so. I’ll keep posting memes about him on Facebook, and encouraging others to look seriously at his candidacy. He’s The People’s Candidate. and I’m definitely feeling the Bern.

     
    • Virginia Allain

      September 2, 2015 at 3:38 am

      I feel like you do, Kathryn, so I’ve invited you to my Facebook group: Writers for Bernie. You’ll get more ideas on how to promote him.

       
      • Kathryn Grace

        September 2, 2015 at 3:10 pm

        Thanks Virginia. Facebook told me you had already “joined” me to the group. I didn’t know people could do that, but I’m glad to be there, all the same.

         

Leave a Reply

 
