RSS

Trying a Facebook Ad

04 Jul
Trying a Facebook Ad

When my mother self-published her memoir at 85 and then a book about Dad’s life, I set up a Facebook fan page for her. Gradually friends, family and fans of her books discovered it and she had almost 100 LIKES on the page.

I’ve been wanting to spread the word further, so I decided to try a Facebook advertisement. They offered $5, $10, and up or set your own price. Uncertain what the return would be on this investment, I opted for a modest $3 a day for 2 1/2 days.

Here's the statistics for the Facebook ad that I ran.

Here’s the statistics for the Facebook ad that I ran.

Figuring that her memoir of growing up in the 1930s appealed most to older women with a Kansas background, I opted for those demographics for showing the ad. So Facebook showed the ad to 426 women from the evening of July 1st to to midnight on July 3rd. Of that number, 30 opted to LIKE the page and become fans.

Will any of these new fans be intrigued enough to take the next step and buy my mother’s books? I’ll let you know about that next month. In the meantime, I spent a mere $6.72 on the ad campaign. That’s about the price of a fast food meal.

Here are further statistics on the Facebook advertisement results.

Here are further statistics on the Facebook advertisement results.

The new followers on the Gail Lee Martin fan page are age 55 and up. Total fans are 60% in that age range, with only 8% male. Most are from the Wichita area and other Kansas locations like Olathe and El Dorado.

I may try another ad in a few weeks with more diverse demographics. Perhaps I should include men and a wider age range or wider geographic range.

For now, I need to post topics on the fan page to keep the members interested and engaged.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2015 in Promotions

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Trying a Facebook Ad

  1. Linda Martin

    July 5, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    Good effort! I haven’t tried using a Facebook ad but maybe I will now. Thanks for posting this information!

     
    • Virginia Allain

      July 5, 2015 at 7:31 pm

      I assumed it would be more expensive and didn’t realize that you could try it in a small amount like this.

       
  2. sandyspider

    November 18, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    I tried it a few years back and it didn’t seem to work for my money.

     
  3. M. Bradley McCauley

    July 23, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    Good information. Can help me decide if I want to try an FB ad.

     

Leave a Reply

 
