RSS

My Favorite Tool for Screenshots

10 Mar

Somehow I never figured out how to get decent screenshots from my computer. It frustrated me as I really wanted to use those in tutorials on my webpages and blogs.

Then I found Awesome Screenshots and downloaded it for free. It resides on my Firefox toolbar or shows up as an option when I left-click my mouse.

1850 United States Federal Census - wrong abraham bates

1850 United States Federal Census – wrong abraham bates

What’s so awesome about Awesome Screenshots? The example above is one I used on my Finding Your Civil War Ancestor blog. It’s a screenshot of the U.S. Census from 1850.

I love being able to crop from a website, circle or box things I want to feature, then add text and arrows. It makes it very clear to your reader and looks so professional.

Did I mention that it’s FREE? You can make a donation at the site and I just might do that, as it is a tremendous tool for any blogger or online content writer or just anyone who uses the Internet.

Check it out at Awesome Screenshot.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2015 in webpages

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “My Favorite Tool for Screenshots

  1. Kathryn Grace

    March 10, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks for this, Virginia. I usually just use the screenshot button on my clipboard and paste to paint, but paint’s text tool is clunky, so highlighting, circling, and making call-outs is tedious. This looks like it would be a lot easier to use.

     
  2. heytoto

    March 10, 2015 at 10:24 pm

    I’ll have to give this a try. It looks really useful.

     
  3. AJGodinho

    March 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    Nice tool to have. I will have to check it out. I generally use screenshots for my YouTube videos and use PowerPoint for a walk-through. However, this is probably easier to use for screenshots on blogs like this. One thing to note is that screenshots should be considered as pictures in terms of attribution.

     
  4. heytoto

    March 11, 2015 at 2:27 pm

    I went ahead and downloaded it and made a donation. Well worth it. Thanks for the tip!

     

Leave a Reply

 
