RSS

Don’t Call Me a Spammer

03 Feb

I’m regularly receiving email messages from Hubpages with the gentle caution that one of my pages (called a hub there) might be spammy. I try not to feel insulted. I’m sure the site intends the note to be instructive and to steer me in the right direction as they see it.

Unfortunately, many of the pages that are causing them to turn up their nose are ones that were quite successful on Squidoo. In the past, these received a lot of traffic and yes, quite a few buyers for the Amazon products I featured.

Naturally I’m reluctant to gut a hub by removing all the links to informative pages and to useful products. Hubpages tucks the offensive pages out of sight by making them unfeatured. There they languish until I follow through on their suggestions or remove them to another site where I have more control.

Here’s part of the wording, “It’s possible that your Hub is not Featured because it contains spammy elements. Perhaps it was written for a link, or has too many unrelated or distracting products capsules. Even Hubs that appear to be high quality can be spammy. We recommend that you remove any spammy elements from your Hub.”

I admit that I have a number of hubs on topics relating to my mother’s book. Of course, when someone comes to read about feedsack dresses or having a pet badger, I naturally want to tell them they will find more about that in My Flint Hills Childhood by Gail Lee Martin.

Oops, I just spammed you, at least that’s what Hubpages considers as spam. To me, it’s a huge part of the Internet, providing easy links for readers to find more about a topic.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2015 in Hubpages

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Don’t Call Me a Spammer

  1. heytoto

    February 3, 2015 at 2:55 am

    The cautions don’t seem all that gentle to me. 😦

     
    • Virginia Allain

      February 3, 2015 at 3:58 am

      I guess I’m comparing them to Squidoo where they would summarily lock a lens.

       
  2. Holly Day

    February 3, 2015 at 11:28 am

    Well, to me the Internet is supposed to provide good and informative related links to any kind of topic. So what HP may consider as spammy is often not spammy at all. Especially when one sees that some really spammy pages are still live on the site and they don’t seem to care 😦 And when this adds to the way some forumers post insulting comments to threads…

     
  3. Nancy Hardin

    March 4, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    I so totally agree with what you say, Virginia. If we can’t provide the reader with the information, what’s the point of writing? I always thought that being able to find what you need in an article was the point of making it available on the internet, but evidently HP wants an ingrown, unresponsive community. It’s too bad, it could have been substantially enriched with the good Squidoo writers that moved to the site, but many of us are leaving because of their attitudes. Excellent points you made here, thanks Virginia.

     
  4. Lisa

    March 5, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    Their email to you repeats the word spammy three times in four sentences. Talk about spammy…. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
