RSS

Creating My First Website

20 Dec

All those hours of creating content for eHow, Squidoo and Hubpages hopefully prepared me for creating a stand-alone website. At least that was my thinking. It turns out that those sites took care of a lot of details that now I must arrange for myself.

I made it through choosing a place to host the website (Hostgator) and choosing a domain name. There was the option to use WordPress or Weebley to create the site. Although I have blogging experience with WordPress, I opted for Weebley and floundered about trying it out. The look of the site pleased me.

Now I need to apply myself to setting up Google Analytics and getting Adsense going for the site. I still haven’t figured out how to add social buttons so people can share the site on Facebook and Pinterest.

I haven’t even figured out how to let people subscribe. Supposedly I need a privacy statement too. Not sure where that goes. I did get the domain registered with Google and Bing. So much to learn, but it’s at least started.

If you’d like to see what I’ve created, it’s called Florida Decorating Ideas. I’d love to get feedback and suggestions for improving it.

A section of my new webpage. Please visit it to see what it covers.

A section of my new webpage. Please visit it to see what it covers.

 

Wish me luck.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2014 in Decorating, Florida, Website

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Creating My First Website

  1. Nancy Hardin

    December 20, 2014 at 5:16 am

    Congratulations Virginia! You’re moving right along with this and I’m happy for you. Good work and yes, there are more things to attend to on your own site, than on a content site. But on the plus side, everything it reaps will belong to you, without a cut for anyone else or any other site. So more power to you, and if I can ever help you with anything I’ll be happy to do so. But I have a blog on WordPress and one on blogger, so I probably won’t be of much help on Weebly. But I can be your fan and cheerleader, which I fully plan to do! 😀

     
    • Virginia Allain

      December 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

      Thanks, Nancy, I can always use a cheerleader! It feels good to get this far with the site and I have ideas for a 2nd one.

       

Leave a Reply

 
