RSS

My First eBay Sale!!

24 Feb

I’m all excited about making my first sale on eBay. Although I’ve wanted for some time to try selling some excess stuff, I kept putting it off. What if I did it wrong? What if no one placed a bid? How would I know what to do?

It turns out that eBay anticipates all these worries and really tries to make it fool proof. The form to list the item for auction was quite understandable. The site kept me informed with details like how many people viewed the item and what the bids were.

I’d opted with a 7-day auction, though there are all sorts of time variations and sell-it-now to tailor your selling experience. The first four days there was only a 99 cent bid. It made me anxious that the pair of golf shoes might go for such a lowly amount. I had to remind myself that after 6 months of the shoes taking up shelf space, I’d been about ready to send them off to Goodwill.

Even 99 cents  would be something and the buyer would pay for the mailing. Finally a second bidder joined in and the price edged up to $13. This evening the auction ended and I briefly panicked. What now? Again eBay provided step-by-step instructions for printing the postage after buyer paid. I see on Paypal that eBay’s fee was 89 cents. Certainly seems modest.

The package is ready to go and already I’m thinking about what I’ll list next. WhooHoo, I can start clearing out all the odds and ends that we no longer use or need.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2013 in ebay

 

Tags:

7 responses to “My First eBay Sale!!

  1. klash5

    February 24, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Congratulations on your first ebay sale! I too have been wanting to “try” ebay for a long time but hesitated for the same reasons you did. Maybe I should take the plunge!

     
    • Virginia Allain

      February 24, 2013 at 1:52 pm

      Now that I find out how easy it is, I’m going to go crazy dragging things out of the closet and the garage to start auctions.

       
  2. Peggy

    February 24, 2013 at 5:24 am

    Good for you, Virginia! Sounds like a Squidoo lens in the making. ;o)

     
    • Virginia Allain

      February 24, 2013 at 1:53 pm

      I’m sure there are experienced eBay sellers with Squidoo lenses. I should have read those first.

       
  3. Karen Martin Kolavalli

    February 24, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Thanks for de-mystifying the eBay process–I may finally take the plunge, too.

     
    • Virginia Allain

      February 25, 2013 at 12:52 am

      I tried something simple first that I was going to give away. Figured if it didn’t sell for much, I wouldn’t be too disappointed.

       
  4. Nathalie

    March 3, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    EBay is a great platform, I have been using it since 1998 and I have various niche accounts (I started with one broad account but since I sell a large variety and lots of stuff I find that having a couple of niche accounts is a good way to go to keep organized). I also buy a lot (too much?) on eBay.

    Selling there can be addictive, you start by one item and next thing you know you are searching through your house and all garage sales in your neighborhood.

     

Leave a Reply

 
