RSS

Updating Purchased Squidoo Lenses

23 Nov

After buying a huge bundle of web pages (192, to be exact), I’ve been struggling to freshen them up in a timely manner.

Why the sense of urgency? Hey, folks, it’s almost Christmas.. the biggest shopping time of the year. Almost all these lenses are sales pages, so the most urgent action is to scan through all of them and replace the original owner’s Amazon affiliate code with my own. If I don’t, I may own the lenses, but he’s getting the sales.

My problem is while I’m searching for the affiliate codes, I get distracted and start adding related lenses to the introduction, replacing photos that need crediting, and other basics. Then I spot an out-of-stock product and search around Amazon to replace it. I add the three side widgets and look for pertinent products to go there.

I like to add speed bumps to a lens, modules that slow down a visitor who might just scan quickly and leave. What I use are polls which require interaction, talk bubbles and sticky notes. They add visual variety to a page filled with Amazon products for sale. Using the standard Amazon module, I set it to thumbnail to give a horizontal section. Again, this is to stop the overly quick down-the-page scan.

Lastly I check over the tags and remove ones that don’t fit well (don’t want Google to think I’m stuffing the keywords). I look for overuse of the keyword phrase in the introduction and replace some of them with related, alternate wordings. It sounds more natural and you pick up traffic that searches the related key words. I also replace generic module titles like “Top XYZ for Kids” and put the actual product name.

Needless to say, this takes awhile to do on each lens. I’ve completed the first 50 updates, and only 142 to go. Later on, I’ll need to go in and add more personalization to each lens, but no time for that right now.

For my complete tips on Making Money Buying Squidoo Lenses, I’ve put them together on one page.

//

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2012 in Squidoo, webpages

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Updating Purchased Squidoo Lenses

  1. marie

    November 23, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Virginia,

    You are truly a hard worker. I applaud your efforts for updating l92 lenses.
    Do you still take the time to smell the roses?

    I visited a few of those lenses already. I hope it helps to bring the rankings up.

     
  2. Virginia Allain

    November 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    This is what I do for fun. Actually changing all the affiliate codes isn’t much fun, but seeing how the traffic responds to improvements is rewarding to me.

    I’m going out for golf today, so that gives me a break from editing lenses.

     
  3. Karen Martin Kolavalli

    November 28, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    This sounds like how I get distracted when I’m listing vintage books on my Amazon Seller account! I think it’s really important to list the correct edition and cover art and end up becoming REALLY well informed on the printing history and background of particular books. But I love it!

     
    • Virginia Allain

      November 28, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      Guess it runs in the family then. Thanks for commenting, Sis.

       
  4. astrogremlin

    December 2, 2012 at 8:04 am

    I know it won’t work for Squidoo, but for my WordPress blogs I use a paid plug-in called EasyAzon which automates the affiliate code, etc. when you pick a product. It sounds as though your bundle consists of Squidoo lenses, though. Admire your ambition and work ethic!

     
  5. Children'S Clothing

    February 20, 2013 at 5:06 am

    Hello! It’s my 1st comment here and so i wanted to make an efficient shout out and say I really enjoy looking at your blog posts. Would you suggest other blogs/websites/forums that take care of the equivalent topics? Many thanks!

     
    • Virginia Allain

      February 20, 2013 at 3:03 pm

      You’ll find other blogs about Squidoo which is a topic I frequently write about.

       

Leave a Reply

 
