RSS

Does Your Whole Family Write?

08 Aug

I have a web page called A Family of Writers: Handing Down a Writing Tradition. It celebrates all the writers in my family. Five generations so far.

My family is filled with writers, going back to my grandmother in 1924. Actually I have a great-great grandfather who kept a diary during the civil war, so maybe it goes back even further.

Vintage Typewriter mousepad
Vintage Typewriter by JuJuGarden

It would be great to pass along the tradition of writing in your family. I’m fortunate that almost everyone in my family writes so it was a natural activity for me to pursue. I’ve included in this lens some books to foster writing in the family. Maybe you can start a writing tradition in your family. Start them off right by encouraging your children to write.

If you write, it’s a good idea to have a writer’s business card to hand out. Mine includes the web page addresses for the online sites where I post my writing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 8, 2011 in Family, Writing

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Does Your Whole Family Write?

  1. Nancy Hardin

    August 8, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Ha! the wrong avatar came up when I “liked” this…but anyway, Virginia you are so fortunate to have writers in your family. All the history is handed down and you can refer to it for details of how life was back then. None of my folks were writers, at least that I’ve been able to determine. I’ve been encouraging my daughters to write, and my son writes really well, but so far he isn’t interested in doing it that much.

     

Leave a Reply

 
