RSS

The Ups and Downs of Squidoo Mentoring

14 Jul

I’ve encouraged a number of eHow pals to migrate over to Squidoo with their content or to become more active on Squidoo if they were already there. At times they get discouraged and I feel responsible for luring them to a site that might not work out for them. I have to remind them that the first 3 to 6 months on Squidoo can be long ones while waiting to see results, but their hard work will pay off over time.

Actually they’ve made amazing progress in the few months since eHow pulled the rug out from under the writers. Here are some of the remarkable achievements of my eHow writing buddies:

  • Frischy won Lens of the Day with From Ugly Shed to Trendy Chicken Coop. It is currently ranked at 5,000 but I think with some backlinks and occasional updating she could make some sales and achieve tier one earnings too. She has 25 lenses already.
  • Wordstock created over 100 lenses on Squidoo and is a Rocket Mom. Congrats to her on these achievements. Her lens, A Little Extra Courage, won a purple star for excellence. She has several niches going, but sometimes comes up with something quirky like How to Escape from Godzilla.
  • ChrissJ had a good start on Squidoo on her own, but I bugged her into making lenses about storytime themes. With that niche and her former eHow articles on dog care, she has rapidly reached 86 lenses. Her Diary of a Puppy Fashionista recently made Lens of the Day.
  • NancyCarol dragged her feet about making Squidoo lenses, but suddenly got the Squidoo spirit and made a lens about My Best Friend, My Pug. Now she has three purple stars and quite a few angel blessings on her 53 lenses. Her Story of the Women’s Army Corp is one of the purple stars.
  • Gottaloveit at first gravitated to List My Five and I finally cajoled her into giving Squidoo a try. She quickly built two impressive niches with a variety of lenses on Dessert Shooters and caregiving lenses like Helping a Hospitalized Senior Citizen.

To keep this post from getting too long, I’ll make a separate one to feature more of the eHow writers who are making their mark on Squidoo. Here’s a directory of eHow Writers on Squidoo.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in eHow, Squidoo, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The Ups and Downs of Squidoo Mentoring

  1. Frischy

    July 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Thank you for your encouragement, Virginia. Ups and downs is really correct. Writing is hard work and there are no guarantees. You are a wonderful mentor, and I appreciate you very much.

     
  2. HSSchulte

    July 16, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Virginia, I’ve always loved your willingness to help and encourage other writers! Squidoo has a lot of potential. I believe there are many sites out there today that do, but Suidoo is one of the best! Sometimes it feels like no good deed will ever go unpunished (ha ha), but I admire your for all the time you invest in helping your fellow writers at Squidoo.

     
    • Virginia Allain

      July 17, 2011 at 2:24 am

      Your answers to people are a big help on Facebook too. It’s fun having a cluster of eHow writers share our experiences.

       
  3. Nancy Hardin

    August 17, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Virginia, I had no idea you had included my Squidoo beginnings and my lens about the WAC here. Thank you my friend, your generosity knows no bounds. This is really a super lens, should inspire a lot of ex-eHowers to become Squidooers. Why’d it take me so long? I’m just stubborn, I guess!

     

Leave a Reply

 
