RSS

Sad Times on eHow

10 Mar

For several years, I wrote articles for the eHow website. Over time, the almost 500 articles started earning good residuals for me and I looked forward to that monthly deposit from Demand Media (eHow) into my Paypal account.

This past year, they switched to paying $15 upfront for articles and I was dismayed to see the flat rate articles seemed to duplicate the titles and content of some of my most successful and best earning articles. I wondered if they were just trying to divert some of the traffic away from my article to the new ones so they wouldn’t have to pay me as much in residuals. My other fear was that once they had the best earning articles covered would they just dump the originals (and the residuals)? As far as making money for Demand Media, it seemed like a smart, but borderline unethical thing to do.

This week, it appears that eHow has started a massive purge of articles that they claim are duplicate content. The writers are comparing their war wounds in the eHow forum, which mysteriously remains active even though eHow said it would close in February 2011. At this point, I think I’ve lost about twelve eHow articles. I expect more deletions over the weeks. Some writers have lost as much as 20% of their articles.

I’ll sure miss that $400 or so that I was earning from eHow residuals each month. It’s their site and they have to fine tune it as they see fit, but I can’t help but feel sad that it has taken this way of ridding itself of its writers and all the articles that earned so much for each of us and eHow over the growth years of 2008 and 2009.

I’ve been busy handing out links to my eHow and Squidoo articles that might help others through this time of turmoil on eHow. Here are the topics in case you need them:

Turn an eHow Article into a Squidoo Lens

eHow Writers on Squidoo

How to Find Deleted eHow Articles (find out what was deleted and find the cache on Google)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in eHow, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Sad Times on eHow

  1. Joyce Mann

    March 10, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Virgina — you could not have said it any better. Legal? Perhaps. Unethical? Definitely.

     

Leave a Reply

 
