RSS

Those Cute Chipmunks

23 Jul

Rodents aren’t supposed to be so darn cute. After a mild winter this year, the chipmunks in New Hampshire are having a population explosion. It has given me an opportunity to try out the zoom on my Canon SX20is. Capturing digital images of the little critters has been fun.

What isn’t fun is the interest they’re taking in my strawberry patch. I have a photo series of the brazen culprit turning the large red strawberry around in his paws while nibbling daintily on different parts of the ripe fruit. Then we found they were even abscounding with the smaller green strawberries. As my husband waved his arms and stomped into the garden, a chipmunk took time to stuff a not-yet-ripe strawberry into each cheek before running away to safety.

Chipmunks are great tree climbers.

Chipmunks are great tree climbers.

I have several webpages about the chipmunks. The one about Ten Humane Ways to Get Rid of Chipmunks is proving quite popular. Apparently, I’m not the only one suffering from an over-abundance of these rodents with racing stripes. The second one is Fun Facts about Chipmunks and the target audience is children, but I’m finding that it appeals to adults too. It includes some of my chipmunk photos and observations that I’ve made of their behavior.

Update (July 2011): Since people wanted ways to more permanently get rid of chipmunks, I’ve created a new web page called Get Rid of Chipmunks – The Final Solution. Of course, new chipmunks will try to move into the territory left vacant by any that you have relocated or killed. Be prepared to continue your efforts every summer.

Eastern Chipmunk in New Hampshire

Eastern chipmunk (photo by Virginia Allain)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2010 in New England, Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Those Cute Chipmunks

  1. How to get rid of chipmunks

    July 11, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    They are great lenses – personally, I’m not a big fan of the little critters (I think it may have something to with my daughter playing Alvin & the Chipmunks records non-stop lol)

     
  2. heytoto

    October 13, 2015 at 5:11 am

    They sure are cute little guys, but, like you, they quickly lost their charm for me. They seem to think my container garden is there just for them. My cats love watching them though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
