RSS

Toad Encounter

10 Jun

 I bumped into this fellow today while I planted some impatiens. He was partially hidden in the dirt, so I almost jabbed him with my trowel. Fortunately he moved, as I really didn’t see him. His coloration blended pretty well with the soil.

I took this shot with my Canon Powershot A550. It’s a small camera that fits well in the hand and easy to hold steady for a close-up shot.

I was particularly struck by how detailed the toad’s eye pattern is in this photo. You can click on the photo to see it even larger. Somewhere I read that to get good wildlife photos to focus in on the eyes. Too many of my shots just show the animal’s rump as it disappears into the brush.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Toad Encounter

  1. trish jedrick

    June 10, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Nice shot Ginger ! You do well with that camera. What brand did you get. You do not shake ! I am finding it difficult to keep it from blurring when the lense must have time . I do not like to use flash for the most part. Some may be the camera but much is the hand that takes it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
