RSS

Promoting Squidoo Lenses

04 Feb

The first few months on Squidoo, I didn’t put much effort into getting the word out about the Squidoo lenses I was making. So far, it’s been such fun making new ones without worrying about if anyone actually saw them or not. Since many of them are pretty specialized topics, they aren’t designed for mass consumption.

Now I have started looking at finding the targeted audience. The lens on Small Town Kansas: Hamilton seemed a natural to post on the Get Hamilton group on Facebook.  There are only 102 fans signed up for the group, but obviously they’re motivated to go to a website on Hamilton.  So I put in my plug and link to my Small Town Kansas: Hamilton lens on Squidoo. When I did that on January 25, 2010, the lens was ranked 158,662 on Squidoo. Way down in the rankings. After ten days, I checked it again and was delighted to see it had risen to 16,889.

Only two people had rated the lens (with the stars at the top) but you have to be signed in as a Squidoo member for that. My mom was kind enough to put a comment at the bottom. Most casual viewers don’t bother, even though I set it so non-members can leave comments. I was hoping I’d get comments that would help me expand the content of the lens.

Anyway, my little experiment shows that finding a motivated group, even a small one, can result in viewers for a lens and a boost to its lens ranking.

I recently added a Zazzle module to the Hamilton lens with several gift items showing off my sunflower photo and the words “Hamilton KANSAS.” Already there have been several clicks on that, but no sales as yet.

available from zazzle vallain*

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Kansas, Squidoo

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Promoting Squidoo Lenses

  1. jenicoe2001 from eHow!

    February 22, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Hi Virginia, I luv your blog! And thank you for the info about promoting squidoo lenses! 🙂 I have been dancing around joining squidoo, but your article has convinced me to go for it! lol You have given really great advice which will apply to other sites as well! I have signed up for your RSS feed. I would really appreciate it, if you would follow my blog on Blogger! Thanks Virginia! Keep up the terrific work you do on all of your invaluable writing! TTYS!! (jenicoe2001 from eHow)

     
  2. poutine

    February 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Hi Virginia,

    I bookmarked my Squidoo lenses on the social networks like: Delicious, Reg Gage,Twitter,Facebook, etc.

    It seems to work, but I really have to put in the time.
    Poutine

     

Leave a Reply

 
