RSS

Books I Could Put Down

24 Nov

Often when readers recommend a book, they say, “I couldn’t put it down.” I love it when I find a book like that. That’s what reading is all about, finding a book that you don’t even want to close for meals or sleeping. Staying up past bedtime immersed in a great book is a wonderful experience.

Unfortunately sometimes I bog down in a book. For some reason it doesn’t meet my expectations. I hate to give up on a book once I’ve started it. It lays by my reading chair sometimes for weeks. Somehow it seems reproachful with it’s bookmark permanently stuck at the halfway point. I feel guilty that I’m not enjoying it and postpone reading anything else. I’ll dip into it now and then, hoping it will capture my fancy and get some zip going in its plot. Eventually I’ll pick up another book, but keep the rejected book at hand. Who knows, maybe I’ll be in just the right mood for it another day.

Since I review books for Amazon, I like to be able to say good things about a book. An author worked long and hard to write it and a publishing house thought it worthy of putting into print.  As a librarian, I prided myself on finding good books for my library patrons to read.  Several reviewers saying a book was uninteresting meant my library didn’t buy it. Deep down, I believe that for every book there is a reader, even many readers. A mis-match between the book and the reader results in someone not liking a book. Another reader might find it fits them perfectly.

With that said, I’m not pointing out these books as hopeless. Maybe they would be just right for you. Unfortunately for me these books were ones that I could put down and not pick up again. I feel sad about them, but I’m going to put them all away and start a new book that might engage my interests. HopefullyI’ll read late into the night relishing the story  as each page turns and words flow past creating pictures in my mind.

Books I Could Put Down:

  • Waiting for Lila by Billie Green
  • Rainbow’s End by Irene Hannon
  • Don’t Bend Over in the Garden, Granny, You Know Them Taters Got Eyes by Lewis Grizzard
  • Coming Undone by Susan Anderson
  • Creature Cozies by various authors
  • Without Pity by Ann Rule
  • What Am I Doing Here by Bruce Chatwin
  • A Circle of Quiet by Madeleine L’Engle
 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 24, 2009 in Books, Reading

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Books I Could Put Down

  1. maria

    November 27, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Hello,

    I understand how you feel about giving up on a book.

    It has happened to me a few times, although I can’t recall
    which ones right now.

    Poutine

     

Leave a Reply

 
