RSS

Love This Vintage Photo

30 Oct

My mom turned up this photo of her mother during my recent visit. I’d never seen it before. Wow, it’s hard to imagine my grandmother in the early 1900s on a motorcycle.

Take a look at that bike! I love what my grandmother is wearing. Her name was Ruth Vining and she lived in Tyro, Kansas. To read more about her life, check out my mother’s book, My Flint Hills Childhood: Growing Up in 1930s Kansas. It’s hard to tell is that’s smoke around the back of the motorcycle from the exhaust or just fading or damage to the old photo.

If you’d like to know more about the motorcycle, a reader clued me in that it’s a Flanders 4. With a little internet research, I found an old ad from 1911 that features it.

Here’s a webpage I created on Squidoo with more about this motorcycle and photos of vintage motorcycles.

Ruth Vining on Albert's motorcycle_editedRoxio

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2009 in Books, Family, Kansas, Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Love This Vintage Photo

  1. lorraine kennedy

    October 30, 2009 at 6:32 am

    This picture is so beautiful it looks like a vision, something FAR beyond our everyday space-time. I think this variety of Sci-fi would be “steam punk,”
    but it isn’t any type of fiction, it is your own history. Go, Grammy, go!

    Thank you for sharing it, Lorraine

     
  2. Classic Bike Guy

    November 3, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Just in case you are wondering – The motorcycle is a “Flanders 4” from around 1912.

     
  3. Virginia Allain

    November 3, 2009 at 5:17 am

    My mother says that she thinks her uncle destroyed the motorcycle with a sledge hammer after having trouble starting it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
