RSS

Photographing Moving Water

25 Sep

I walked down to the lake with my camera, thinking I might get good scenery shots with maybe some fall color. It’s a little early for widespread colorful foliage in late September. Next month is a better time for that in New Hampshire. At the moment I’m seeing splashes of color, but still lots of green leaves on the trees.

Standing by the lake, my eye strayed to a single red leaf resting on the sand. A small wave of clear lake water moved towards it. The leaf did not float away. It stayed in place and let the water ripple across it. I took a number of shots, trying to capture the ripples of the water playing around the scarlet leaf. The contrast against the tawny, wet sand was lovely.

I feared that my shots would be disappointing. So many things can go wrong with a photo. An unsteady hand, poor light, and many other factors ruin a photo. To my delight, the photos of the leaf, sand and moving water turned out quite pretty. Here they are for your enjoyment. Click on one if you want to see it larger.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 25, 2009 in Nature, New England, Photography

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Photographing Moving Water

  1. coachmac4

    September 25, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I LOVE yours! I noticed it is wordpress.com. I am so new to blogging that I don’t know what I am doing! Are you using affiliates or monetizing in any way?

     

Leave a Reply

 
