RSS

I Love Books and Libraries

15 Nov
Dad - reading an old favorite

Dad - reading an old favorite

I made a good career choice when I picked librarianship.  It kept me fascinated for 30 years.  All aspects of library work from children’s librarian to reference librarian, middle management to library director, offered new challenges and rewards.

Even though I’m retired, I still “brake for libraries.”  There’s some irrisistable draw to an old Carnegie library building filled with books.  Our whole family loves to read.  Here are my articles on books, reading and libraries:

My family has a number of articles about their love of reading.  Take a look at these:

How to Personalize a Bookshelf by Gail Martin …My Wall of BooksLook Who I Met In The ArchivesA lot of Lincoln is on our bookshelvesMy Parents Had Bookshelves Too

From the Bookshelf Indeed by Carol Garriott …Life Behind the Circulation DeskWhat is it About HarryNew Book Out

Life Without Georgette by Shannon Hyle …Falling in Love Among the BookshelvesMy Bookshelves

She Was a Woman Before Her Time by Cynthia Ross …Books, Books & More Books

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2008 in Books, Family, Libraries, Reading, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I Love Books and Libraries

  1. Karen

    November 15, 2008 at 2:42 am

    I brake for libraries! We should have a bumper sticker with this on it. Thanks for some interesting articles.

     
  2. meopham

    November 15, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I spent Saturday mornings and school break and lunchtimes in libraries. I worked as a school librarian for 4 years. And now I love that my husband’s children’s books are shortlisted for library book awards around the country. I love libraries!
    http://anorrissbooks.wordpress.com/

    My 2 boys read yet never go near a library if they can help it. What’s that about?

     
  3. Dr. Tom Bibey

    November 15, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I love ’em too. I was a rough and tumble boy who loved to play ball, but my mom took me to the library every week. She was an English teacher and believed in books.

    They’d let me check out six at a time. We lived in a little country town, and didn’t have much, but I read every book they had twice.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

     
    • Gail Martin

      March 31, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      We love to read our favorite books time and time again too,that is why our home library takes up a whole wall plus smaller shelves of books in other rooms of our home. I’m rereading books written by Tony Hillerman. They are mystery stories of the South West Indians in Arizona area. I read most of them back two years ago and then I found a different one at garage sale resulting in one by one I’m reading the others again. I love to write memories of my family and have posted many on an online site called OurEcho. My stories can be read at this address http://www.ourecho.com/member_stories.shtml As always, Gail

       
  4. Gail L. martin

    November 28, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    My husband has chosen to read my collection of Rex Beach’s books this week. The ones we have that Clyde has read are Flowing Gold, 1922; The Spoilers, 1905; Padlocked, 1926; The Auction Block, 1914; The Ne’ver-Do-Well, 1910. This book has this hand written in the front, “given to Arthur Hess Christmas 1916. Still to be read are The Net, 1912 and has the hand written words, Loyal Knox 12-25-1926on the inside cover. Loyal Knox’s widow, Lulu was our neighbor for several years. The Barrier, 1908 is still waiting to be read; The Winds of Chance, 1918, a Yukon Edition; and Going Some, 1910. Great reading during a Kansas winter like our parents did back in their early married years.

     
  5. Gulara

    April 11, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    I love libraries: the smell of books, silence, atmosphere – it’s magical

     

Leave a Reply

 
