RSS

Writing Down the Memories

03 Nov

My Mom, Gail Martin, taught memory writing classes at the Good Shepherd Center in Wichita, KS.  Here are her writing triggers to get you started writing:

How to Trigger January Memories for Writing

How to Trigger February Memories for Writing
Retro Housewife Artist Print print
Retro Housewife Artist Print by Whatsbuzzin
Browse the poster designs at zazzle.com

How to Trigger March Memories for Writing

How to Trigger April Memories for Writing

How to Trigger May Memories for Writing

I recommend each month checking the memory triggers and trying out one or two.  Hopefully the topics she suggests will help you get memories onto paper.
Now I’m trying to carry on her tradition of helping people preserve their childhood memories. I meet weekly with a group of women and we share our family memory writing each week. My contribution is to come up with a topic for them to write about and to provide enough memory triggers to inspire them.
I’ve started putting these on a website so others can use them as well. If you want to browse through these, here’s the website for Writing Triggers for Family Memories. Each week I post a new topic, so come back often to see those. I suggest bookmarking or favoriting the site.
 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2008 in Family, Writing

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Writing Down the Memories

  1. Gail L. martin

    November 7, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I use a small journal that goes with me everywhere. You never know when you will see something the triggers a memory. Lately I started taking my camera with me. The camera catches that flitting thought for reviewing later.

     
  2. trapperhoney

    June 7, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    wow, this is great. thanks!

     
  3. bookszeus

    June 16, 2010 at 2:19 am

    I love writing triggers. Thanks. This give me more ideas for my blog too.

     
  4. coffeepearlsgrace

    July 6, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    This is great… would be very helpful when writer’s block sets in! Thanks for sharing.

     
  5. jaybkay

    July 15, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    this is very clever. thank you so much!

     

Leave a Reply

 
